Perpetual Trophies

The Lyle Davis Skin Diver of the Year shield is awarded annually at the AGM.

It can be awarded to any person for services to skin-diving and the AUFQ on a national,  state, or club level , generally relating to the previous year’s activities, but it does take into consideration all previous service.

The shield was remade in 2008. This is the one perpetual award that may be awarded to a non AUFQ person.

AUFQ Sportsperson of the Year – formerly U.S.F.A.Q. Sportsman of the Year. This shield is awarded annually to an AUFQ member nominated to the state annual general meeting.

Criteria include sporting achievement in the previous year in areas at the national (not necessary), state, and club level. There is no limit on the number of times it may be awarded to any one person.

Awarded first in 2003, this shield is presented annually to an AUFQ member nominated at the AGM. Criteria include sporting achievement in the previous year in areas at national (not necessary), state, and club level.

The Cloughy Shield is in memory of Andrew Clough, who died in a bushwalking accident at Roaring Meg Falls on 31/12/2002.

Andrew was a very active member of the AUFQ, always encouraging other spearos, and was the Spearfishing Commissioner at the time of his death.

For Junior Sportsperson of the year (The Cloughy Shield), the age of the competitor when the achievements took place must under 18 years of age. There is no limit on the number of times it may be awarded to any one person.

LYLE DAVIS – Skindiver of the Year

2021 Graham Smith (BSC)

2020 Geoff Gannon (SCS)

2019 Craig McNiven (TGCFD)

2018 Leonie Allport (QAC)

2017 Steven Keegel (MoUHC)

2016 Warren Hughes (CUA)

2015 Duncan Limpus (BSC)

2014 Russell Cox (UAC)

2013 Jess Morgan (UAC)

2012 Malcolm Marsh (QAC)

2011 Jason Coe (CUA)

2010 Chad Lunow (CUA)

2009 Judy Breeze (QAC)

2008    Sue Dockar (NSW)

2007    Dave Welch (TSC)

2006    Craig Barnett (MDUSC)

2005    Roger West

2004    Bill Fowles (MBBC)

2003    Steve Dunne (MBBC)

2002    Greg Barton (BF)

2001    Andrew Clough (MDUSC)

2000    Jason Blackwell (MBBC& UAC)

1999    John Robinson (TSC)

1998    Tania Romanowski (BF)

1997    Mick McDade (UAC)

1996    Paul Crocombe ( Sun City)

1995    Kerrie Licastro (UAC)

1994    Barbara Barnes (assoc.)

1993    Marc Richards (CUA)

1992    Ross Barnes (MDUSC)

1991    Barry Haywood (CUA)

1990    Arthur Treweek (CUA)

1989    Marc Rishards (CUA)

1988    Marc Richards (CUA)

1987    Mick McDade (UAC)

1986    Frank Grant (MS)

1985    Steve Doherty (MBBC)

1984    Ruth Johnston (associate)

1983    Leigh Oakey (associate)

1982    Alan Hunt (SCS)

Sports Person  of the Year

2021 Max Campbell (TGCFD)

2020 Gary Rosewarne (TGCFD)

2019 Kai Wagner (CUA)

2018 Kate Howard (TGCFD)

2017 Caitlin Parr (UAC Barracudas)

2016 Michael Pannach (TSC)

2015 Bryson Sheehy (TGCFD)

2014 Janet Meyer (UAC)

2013 Ben Thompson (SCS)

2012 James Rossiter (TGCFD)

2011 Matt Atkins (QAC)

2010 Flo Stoltz (TGCFD)

2009 Luke Rector (Bris. Wanderers)

2008    Adam Smith

2007    Zoe Canavan (MBBC)

2006    Adam Smith (TSC)

2005    James Rossiter (TGCFD)

2004    James Rossiter (TGCFD)

2003    Carl Paton (TGCFD) & Tony Heigh (MBBC)

2002    Den Picard (TSC)

2001    Adam Smith (TSC)

2000    Andrew Clough (MDUSC)

1999    Jase Swain (TGCFD)

1998    Tim Neilsen (UAC)

1997    Tony Heigh (CSC)

1996    Tania Romanowski (BF)

1995    Mick McDade (UAC)

1994    Kerrie Licastro (UAC)

1993    Kevin Cracknell (MBBC)

1992    Ross Barnes (MDUSC)

1991    Paul Crocombe (Sun City)

1990    Bruce Waldron (CUA)

1989    Lyle Squire Jr (CUA)

1988    Les Proud (MDUSC)

1987    Les Proud (MDUSC)

1986    Bob Mackay (CUA)

1985    Andre Buck (CUA)

1984    Daryl Funch (MS)

1983    Paul Crocombe (Sun City)

1982    Ralph Whalley (BSC)

1981    John Powell (MDUSC)

1980    Mick McDade (UAC)

1979    Jeff Jewell (MBBC)

1978    Don NOrman (UAC)

1977    Ethel Everett (MDUSC)

1976    Sue Hunt (SCS)

1975    Pam Prescott (THUC)

1974    Ralph Whalley (BSC)

1973    Peter Bethune (UQ)

1972    Richard Weir (SCS)

1971    Bob Hart (CUA)

1970    Ethel Everett (MDUSC)

Junior Sports Person of the Year (Cloughy Shield)

2021 – Tied  – Victoria Bradley (UAC Barracudas) and Eli Carrol (Cooktown UWHC)

2020 Sienna Thomason (CUA)

2019 Quinn Du Toit (UAC – Barracudas)

2018 Daniel Russell (MDUSC)

2017 Daniel Russell (MDUSC)

2016 Daniel Russell (MDUSC)

2015 Kelly Krensky (BSC)

2014 Tiwana Pere (UAC -Morayfield)

2013 Gerald Ledger (QAC)

2012 Michelle Botes (CCSC)

2011 Leeland Greinke (UAC)

2010 David Jensen (CCSC)

2009 Jayme-Lee Neilsen (UAC)

2008   Todd Canavan (MBBC)

2007    Scott Evans (TSC)

2006    Zoe Canavan (MBBC)

2005    Emily Shaw (T/GCFD)

2004    Rory Van Weerdenberg (Brisbnae Mantas)

2003    Mike N. Saudners (BSC)